Short pit stop, then off to Weimar

March 16, 2008 at 3:00 pm | Posted in conference, Media | Leave a comment
Tags: , , , ,

I’ll be very tired and happy when this month is over. I am/was working on several projects at a time, and in combination with my academic and professional commitments was left with very little time just to myself (and my boyfriend) or just to wind down… On Friday I left Salzburg, where I participated as one of the communications people in the kick-off meeting for the KIWI – Knowledge in a Wiki project. On Saturday I flew to Frankfurt (almost missed my flight) and took a train to my mom’s and brother’s village – that’s where I am right now. Tomorrow, I’ll take another train to Weimar, to attend the 21st Colloquium of Young Researchers in Film and Media Studies – with a friend, I am going to present a paper investigating the relations between cuteness, violence and participative online communities. It’s probably going to be the funniest presentation I was ever involved in:-)

Hopefully we won’t be faced with too many raised eyebrows – I am not so sure whether online media are really accepted as something worth dealing with in media studies – seems like each medium has to fight for its place anew (in spite of the fact that even the most traditional or high-culture oriented academics in this area know that the same has happened to film and television before….)

While we’re at it: The Lolcats had their own panel on SXSW 2008 last weekend! Rocketboom made a video about it:

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

