The Goodness of the West

March 10, 2008 at 11:14 am | Posted in Friends | Leave a comment
Tags: , , ,

I have just returned from a fan-tas-tic weekend in Vorarlberg – yes, the western most state of Austria where I spent three (relatively) lonely years of my life, teaching English to aspiring media designers, and that I eventually could not wait to leave. It was good to return, good to achieve some psychological closure (as my ex-colleague WM would say:-) – Vorarlberg may not be welcoming the legal alien, but it certainly is kind to the tourist:-)

I broke all the rules of Lent, had my first sugar high at 11am on Friday, had beer, prosecco, wine, sparkling wine méthode champenoise and more prosecco, ate pork and poultry and home-made Chinese delicacies, American fried bacon, banana nut bread, Altwiener Topfentorte, Schinkenfleckerlauflauf… wow. My friend S. also turned out to be the most fabulous hostess (not that I expected anything less), found my former colleagues in an excellent mood and condition (the banter quotient of course was as high as ever), drifted in and out of inspiring conversations with about a dozen of people and all in all really had a great weekend:-))))))) I even got serious work done on the train, for the conference I am attending next Monday.

But as of today, Lent is back on:-)

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

