Another Social Media Platform: Verwandt.de (Relatives)

March 3, 2008 at 11:05 pm | Posted in Social Media, Web 2.0 | 1 Comment
Tags: , , , ,

At the weekend I signed up for yet another social media platform: verwandt.de which seems to be available in a number of European languages – but I cannot provide the link to the English version now as the main directory seems to be defunct at this very moment. Verwandt.de allows you to creative your family tree with just a number of clicks – the application is actually so smooth and smartly running that it lured me into hacking in the names of 34 of my relations, even though I am actually quite apprehensive of social media. Even if you do not sign up for the genealogy feature: The name map tool is also pretty cool – it allows you to see where in German you can find other people with your name.

Absolute distribution of my surname in Germany:
Surname, absolute

Relative distribution:
Surname, relative

Surprise, surprise: My surname is not thaaaat common in the country as a whole, absolutely speaking, but rather popular in the area that I come from originally (I wonder what the difference between relative and absolute distribution might be in this case though; I know it’s individuals vs. percentage, but shouldn’t the result be more or less the same?). Nice and bright – you like?

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] anaj bloggt auf Englisch über uns. […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

