Stage6 – The End

February 29, 2008 at 5:42 am | Posted in Business | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,

I’d be curious to know what Stage6’s traffic on it’s last day was like – I treated myself to five movies in its final hours, and I had the impression that the performance was better than ever: either because users had already given it up (=low traffic) or because Stage6 provided extra bandwidth for its final day. I’d rather expect that traffic was exceedingly high!

But now it’s definitely dead – here is a copy of their final message:

I’m Tom (aka Spinner), a Stage6 user and an employee of DivX, Inc., the company behind the service. I’m writing this message today to inform you that we plan to shut down Stage6 on February 28, 2008. Upload functionality has already been turned off, and you’ll be able to view and download videos until Thursday.

I know this news will come as a shock and disappointment to many Stage6 users, and I’d like to take a few moments to explain the reasons behind our decision.
[more]

Update: ‘Dead’ means that no further uploads are possible – this morning I could still get access to another movie directly on Stage6.com, even though they were supposed to shut down. Having said that, I normally never used Stage6 on their own platform but used Joox as a gateway and directory – it’s just so much easier to browse movies using Joox. But on Joox, the Stage6 files are definitely dead – no connection possible. And look here: It seems as if they’re selling their left-overs to Veoh… which I yet have to try out. Friend R. said it’s not working properly on a Mac.
Stage6 Veoh

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

