Why 90DayJane is a Fake

February 13, 2008 at 12:01 am | Posted in Blogging | 24 Comments
Tags: , , , , , ,

Fake Suicide JaneThe Blogosphere is on suicide watch: Someone allegedly called Jane started a blog offering a count-down to her allegedly planned suicide: 90dayjane.blogspot.com. It’s barely a week old, has garnered more than 146,000 hits – and has ‘fake’ written all over it. The profile picture and the cheap wig alone (see right) is enough to sustain this point.

To begin with, the lady doesn’t sound even halfheartedly suicidal – go to places like suicide forum to learn about the nature of thinking of truly suicidal people. Their mind has become a trap, their musings a a vicious circle that over and over offers just one answer: Eliminate yourself. The Jane character isn’t suicidal – she’s just toying with a bit of nihilism. Here’s her little welcome note:

I am going to kill myself in 90 days. What else should i say? This blog is not a cry for help or even to get attention. It’s simply a public record of my last 90 days in existence. I’m not depressed and nothing extremely horrible has lead me to this decision. But, does it really have to? I mean, as an atheist I feel life has no greater purpose. My generation has had no great depression, no great war and our biggest obstacle is beating Halo 3. So, if I feel like saying “game over”, why can’t I? Anyway, I hope you enjoy my thoughts as the clock runs out. Also, if blogspot takes this down before i’m gone just go to http://www.90dayjane.com. Please don’t attempt to “help” me. If you want to truly help, please send me ideas on how to do the deed. thx-Jane

Does this sound suicidal to you? She seems worried that people might not be able to reach her blog if Blogspot/Blogger decide to pull the plug on her – doesn’t seem like she’s ready to say good bye or has objectives any more noble than beating Halo 3. The blog is only 8 days old and already has a sitemeter-button installed?* If you’ve ever maintained a blog yourself you’ll know that the widgets come over time. And instead of asking for suicide advice, she should’ve just checked Wikipedia.
* (unless these come with the blogger template these days)

On day 86 of 90, Jane went “shopping for a dress to wear on the big day”. The footage is fake from beginning to end: The camera movements upon entering the shop do not reflect the movements of a person browsing for clothes. Jane dresses and undresses for the camera (she put on men’s briefs to give it that special raunchy look) and her face always just barely eludes the camera. In the second undressing scene, the light is just right to leave her face in the dark. The final stunt when she films herself in the mirror seems like just a little narrative gadget to give proof that she really filmed herself (and not let a cameraman do it for her) – and the person walking through the picture behind her is all too obvious an attempt to make us think that this was really filmed in a shop during regular opening hours.

Neither was the 90 day period well planned – far too long to keep an online audience on edge (in particular in light of the lack of authenticity in her writing). That’s why I doubt that there’s an agency or company behind this blog (like it was the case with the Bride Wig Out) – it’s probably just a desperate L.A. wannabe-actress seeking to sell her toned body (of which we see enough during all the undressing) to audiences.

The Pre-Valentine’s Day post is finally all too annoying – in spite of her figure and face, they’re trying to make us a believe that the Jane character is “tired of being the sole member of my own Dateless Wonder Club. So, in the spirit of living my remaining life to the fullest, I said yes [to a colleague who had asked her out for Valentine’s Day]. […] I just hope he’s not looking for anything long-term.”

Cut that sh*t out PLEASE. Show some respect for the people who are REALLY on the edge of a suicide.

Update! The page already went offlne – let’s see whether it’s gonna reappear on http://www.90dayjane.com or not.

Update! The page went back online! New address: 90-day-jane.blogspot.com I like the way The Underground Scribe describes
it:

She put back up her Day 0: The Resolve post, but
renumbered, and renamed it to Day 83: The Idea.
She also edited her post from:
“This is why my project, 90DayJane, will be taken down in the next few hours.”
Now reads:
“This is why my project, 90DayJane, will be taken down on day 80.”
It’s obvious that she is not willing to let go of the limelight just
yet.

Update! Folks, be careful! Everyone is rushing to the new 90-day-Jane page, which seemed to replace the first 90dayJane page. BUT: There is an unknown executable program, potentially a virus lurking behind what seems to be the link to Jane’s Dress-for-the-Big-Day video. The first Jane’s original video on Youtube has disappeared – removed by the user. So why should there be a link to it on a new blog?

If you click the you Youtube still image, this is what you get:

Virus on 90-day-Jane

I am on a Mac, so this can’t affect me…. but Windows user beware, no Youtube link would normally launch an exe – which means: virus alert! Could it be that the person hiding behind the new 90-day-jane.blogspot.com is not the same person that launched 90dayjane.blogspot.com – but someone with even worse intentions?

The original Jane had announced to be setting up something new at http://www.90dayjane.com if Blogspot canceled her account. She then canceled it herself, but the redirect from 90dayjane.com to 90dayjane.blogspot.com is still active – which only supports the fact that the new blog, i.e. 90-day-jane.blogspot.com was started by someone else.

I have hence removed all links to the site, if you want to go there you need to type in the URL manually, at you own risk.

Update! We have a meme! Say hello to 90 Day Tania which is a spoof, rather than a fake:-) AND they’re hosting a virus free copy of the original blog, in case you’d like to have a look at what it was about.

24 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. haha, your so right. her blog is down now (13-02-2008 12:29). but i have a friend that was just like her once. he was happy, he had many friends, and a good home. but one day he just killed himself.

  2. Well, that was quick! Neither is http://www.90dayjane.com. active anymore. Now we’ll never know if she’s gonna kill herself (I doubt it, I think she was a character, i.e. someone acting up to be read as suicidal Jane).

  3. Suicide is not a joke. Why do morons like this think it is so funny?

    Thankfully he/she/it is gone and will not show up again.

  4. Before the website went offline she left a last post:

    “90DayJane is a personal art piece about me. It was meant for me and (what I ignorantly thought would be) a small number of people who might find it on BlogSpot. It is the result of me tapping into the darkest part of myself and seeing where it led.
    What I have written and filmed, at its core, is from a place of truth. I am the girl in the videos. I have great disappointment with my generation and its obvious obsession with celebrity culture rather than their fellow man, thus the former Chuck Palahniuk reference.
    I wanted this blog to be about personal discovery and truth. But the correspondences I have received have taught me more about those qualities than I could ever express. 90DayJane has become its own entity and has influenced me. In fact, it has changed my perspective as a human being.
    I feel a massive sense of responsibility to my art, but more importantly the readers of this blog. My closeness to this project must have made art seem like reality to many people. That is not a reaction that I expected nor can I morally justify. This is why my project, 90DayJane, will be taken down in the next few hours.
    90DayJane was meant to mirror the tragic figure, Christine Chubbuck. Newscaster Christine Chubbuck committed suicide in 1974 by shooting herself in the head live on air. She was very vocal about her depression to those around her and gave every indication of her exact intentions leading up to the event. Sadly, no one reacted or helped Christine and those left behind could only ask “why”.
    Her story both inspired and terrified me because I can truly empathize with her rage and even her isolation. I wondered how Christine’s life and subsequent suicide would play out in our time. Would the internet be yet another place of isolation to her or an escape? If she remained vocal about her intentions would anyone bother asking “why” or even noticing before the fact? Would the reaction (if any) of the public change her intentions?
    I thought this mirror might reflect the isolation everyday people feel and the lack of true human connection on the internet.
    It is my feeling that the internet is the best and worst example of human interaction. This was painfully proven to me by reading every comment and every email. I believe I owed that to everyone. I know we all saw the dark side of the reactions in the blog comments. There was so much hate, immaturity and apathy. But, I truly wish everyone could see the beauty and honesty in the emails; many people feel like Jane (me). People have been more real and heartfelt than I thought was possible. I owe them a debt of gratitude for showing me the difference between people’s reactions and their true feelings. I understand.
    I do want everyone to know that I accepted no money for 90DayJane despite multiple offers from television, film, books, etc… I will not release my identity and I ask not to be contacted for any type of promotion. I want only for the people who wrote to me to know that I hear them and feel the same way. Your emails touched me so much. Please, share your thoughts with someone in your life or express them in a positive way.

    To everyone, please reach out to those around you. It’s much harder to ask for help than to offer it.”

  5. Hi Stephen, thank you for sharing this piece of information! I had unfortunately missed that moment. If this was meant as a work of art, emulating this woman Christine, she should have done more research into that character, i.e. learn to be vocal about depression. On an artistic level, she didn’t come in any way near to that. And for the treatment of depression: Being vocal about it is an initial step, but not the remedy. People reaching out to those suffering from depression isn’t the cure – they’d still have to go through therapy themselves.

  6. 90dayjane is now back up. She put back up her Day 0: The Resolve post, but renumbered, and renamed it to Day 83: The Idea.

    She also edited her post from:

    “This is why my project, 90DayJane, will be taken down in the next few hours.”

    Now reads:

    “This is why my project, 90DayJane, will be taken down on day 80.”

    It’s obvious that she is not willing to let go of the limelight just yet.

  7. Do you have a (new) URL? Or did Blogspot remove the page again?

  8. This is the URL that is working for me.

    http://90-day-jane.blogspot.com/

  9. Refreshing irony. Thank you.

    Stan

  10. BEATIUFULLY PUT TOGEATHER I DONT BELEIVE 90DAYJANE IS REAL BEACAUSE WHY WOULD YOU EVEN WAIT 90DAYS AND POST BLOGS ABOUT YOUR ALLEGED SUICIDE??? STUPID ISN’T IT VERY UNBELEIVABLE THAT IF SOMEONE WAS REALLY SUICIDAL THEY WOULDN’T WAIT 90 DAYS WHY??? WHO EVER POSTED THIS IS REALLY THIRSTING FOR ATTENTION BELEIVING IN YOURSELF ENOUGH TO POST THIS IN CONTINUOUS BLOGS AND KEEP LOOKIG FOR THE LIMELIGHT AND A “SUICIDAL” PERSON WOULD NOT MAKE A WESITE IF THEY DIDNT WANT ATTENTION!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  11. Yawn – this satirical ploy was already done to much better effect by Chris Morris (2nd Class Male, Time to Go, by his pseudonym Richard Geefe.) Google it for the archives.

  12. Sound interesting, thanks!

  13. “”90dayjane is now back up. She put back up her”” – are you that stupid that you think that she’d take down 90dayjane.com and put it back up as 90day-jane.com it’s a copy you retards!

  14. Tania Bruski – “WHO EVER POSTED THIS IS REALLY THIRSTING FOR ATTENTION BELEIVING IN YOURSELF ENOUGH TO POST THIS IN CONTINUOUS BLOGS AND KEEP LOOKIG FOR THE LIMELIGHT AND A “SUICIDAL” PERSON WOULD NOT MAKE A WESITE IF THEY DIDNT WANT ATTENTION!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

    – Tania, how did she get attention? A blog that big would have provided her with a platform for tv interviews and newspaper article. As far as I’ve seen she did none. nobody knows who she is, so she has had no attention, only her blog has. Think of how much money could have been earned from from a blog with more traffic than Perezhilton.com ($1000-$5000 a day). You miss the point or are jealous or didn’t bother to read her last post.

  15. Dear Idiot, if you had read the blog post to the end, you would have noticed that we got the point eventually, just a little later. But I understand – reading is tough. Sorry this spurred your anger.

    Dear Mindnumb, Perez has at least 5 million hits a day – 90 day Jane had a few hundred thousands in a week. And by the way: Hits alone don’t make you any money.

  16. Don’t we all die everyday? and rise again the next?

    Flux etc.

    I dunno, nice concept…

    I’m sure all the good things to say have been said, but I can’t be asked to read the comments.

  17. Actually, not too many nice things have been said about the project thus far – mainly because of the glossy appeal of the videos and photos found on the original blog…

  18. […] new one is up.   This one seems to be a site to hide a virus behind a movie though as pointed out here.  Watch […]

  19. Hey,

    I was just wondering. Does anybody have the e-mail of 90dayjane?

    greetzzz

  20. Doubt it. She never revealed her identity, and she never planned to commit suicide anyway. While the blog lasted, people could write to her on her blog of course.

  21. thank you for your response.
    I’ve read somewhere that Jane Q. Doe (something like that) is 90DayJane.

  22. […] Why 90DayJane is a Fake !anaj ,em s’taht […]

  23. […] it happened back in February. I read up on “her”, and was a little taken aback by the story. Here’s a good summary.  Also, here’s the archive of her posts.  “Jane” was the creation of a group of […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

