Illnesses are a disease!

January 14, 2008 at 12:04 pm | Posted in Career, Health | 4 Comments
Tags: , ,

I’m off to the doctor now. Even though I am a bit of a hypochondriac, I only go to a doctor when I am really worried. My degree of worrying, however, is not at all related to the outcome of a doctor’s diagnosis. I once went because I was afraid that itchy patch on my neck was a bacterial inflammation of the skin (I had once had one on my thigh, and it had felt the same) – yet the doctor diagnosed it as pretty much nothing, giving me a sample of Russian-looking coldcream. That was kind of humiliating. There were other instances when my worries turned out to have a serious reason (e.g. a thrombosis).

But I cannot recall having gone to the doctor for coughing in a dozen of years. Ive tried treating it the way I always treat a cough for a week now, and it normally always works, but not this time. Unfortunately, I have been terribly unproductive this week, as I’m easily overwhelmed by fatigue or start feeling dizzy. The last thing I need right now is an illness – anything that stops me from being productive is a potential show-stopper for hammering out the details of my professional future.

Also, it’s not quite certain whether I have health care at the moment or not – which is actually the most annoying part.

Illnesses are a disease, really.

Update: Well, lucky me! Today and tomorrow my health expenses are still covered by me former employer! And antibiotics it is – what a surprise. Mine taste like vanilla and are really hard to swallow.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I don’t mean to advertise, but I will: If you can get Buckley’s cough mixture it tastes retched but works really well.

    Hopefully you’re antibiotics will cover it, and you can spare yourself a flavor something akin to musk of mountain goat.

  2. How did you know I would kill for feeling the siky taste of musk of mountain goat on my lips once more? It is the staple Eucharistic drink in the sparsely populated Northern Hessian hills (where I come from). But if Buckley’s cough mixture (which I doubt is available in Austria – it’s bad enough their selling Centrum, and that for € 22- i.e. $33 – for the ordinary can) cannot do anything better than making the mucous substances liquid, I won’t need it. I’m coughing volume worth two or three shots a day.

    I also like the word: retched. Isn’t there a similar sounding derogatory term for ‘woman’?

  3. Exposing again my painful naivete, if musk of mountain goat really the staple Eucharistic drink of the Northern Hessian Hills? I think you might be pulling my leg.

    I should have spelled “retched” (a past participle for “to make the sound and movement of vomiting”) as “wretched”–which is what I intended–and which means “a person in a very unhappy or unfortunate state.”

    I’m not sure that there is a specifically gendered variant of either “retch” or “wretched.” Both sexes can equally, apparently, be unhappy.

  4. Right, the “if” of musk of mountain goat should be an “is.”


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

