Getting back (very slowly) to a regular workout routine

November 21, 2007 at 10:47 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 4 Comments
Tags: , , ,

Jane FondaAm still bored by blogging, but am gonna force myself anyway. Have just returned from my weekly session of “California Workout” which must be a term coined by Austrians and used in Austria only: The first incidence found via Google was another Austrian blog. It even looked as though the person wrote about the very same gym that I go to: It’s part of the university, open only to students, faculty and staff AND (that’s typically Austrian) to people who hold an academic degree, no matter where they got it.

Basically, California Workout is something like aerobics for the elderly – relatively easy steps (unlike the Streetdance session on Monday which I had to drop as I was unable to follow), mostly low impact and a bit of yoga inspired stretching and relaxation at the end. Perfect to get my lazy bum in motion. And I really think that I have already become a leeeettle bit stronger. Maybe an illusion, but it’s that illusion that keeps me going there and that will in the end make me a fitter, healthier human being:-)

Of course I’ll never be as fit as Jane Fonda (unless I become very rich very soon and hire a personal trainer – never gonna happen) who, by the way, is going to turn 70 on the 21st of December.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Do you do it to get fit, or to lose weight?

  2. I feel like shit if I don’t move in weeks!

  3. hehe, I got past my trial period at work and now qualify for a free gymn membership🙂

    Not sure whether or not I want to actually start going to the gymn. I just don’t have the time!

  4. Hey, that’s a pretty cool incentive:-) If it’s free I would accept it anyway – maybe you can find a gym close to where you work or where you live and then go there after work – the university gym is just 500m from my flat, that makes it relatively easy not to miss my weekly session…


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

