I got published!

November 15, 2007 at 7:18 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 5 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

And maybe all that print business is to blame for my dwindling interest in blogging. My traineeship is nearly over, and towards the end I finally got published – a double page is bearing my name (and that of the editor in charge of the science dept.)! But most of the writing doesn’t sound like me anymore – the inevitable editorial streamlining process took its toll. I know that this happens everywhere, yet still wonder whether this is really commendable. Take the word ‘stylish’ for instance – it is also used in German, although mostly spelled stylisch: Isn’t it one of the hollowest expression possible? Still it’s used all over the place in advertising and mass publishing.

No matter how exciting those six weeks in a tabloid magazine might have been – I am keen on moving on to my new job now, which has a whole array of interesting intellectual challenges in stall for me:-) And maybe, maybe I am going to be able to combine a bit of freelance writing with it. In theory, that should be possible.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Congratulations! That’s really awesome..So what exactly did you publish? Can we see that?

  2. A story about rats in a tabloid magazine… created in the wake of Ratatouille…

  3. Congratulations! I know what you mean about blogging interest waxing and waning. It seems like only rarely do substantive interesting exchanges take place. And I’m as guilty as anyone for posting quick vapid comments.

    Maybe that’s another resolution to add to my list: only substantive comments on blogs. I wonder if it’s practicable.

    By the way I’m hoping to soon (i.e. over the Christmas break) return to Berlin Alexanderplatz. I hope we can discuss it.

  4. Yep. I am trying to a at least keep up the habit of posting a (even if brief) comment on blogs, but often blogging/commenting is a pretty shallow experience.

  5. That sounds interesting..have heard a lot about the movie..will watch it soon..


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

