Niggy Tardust – for free or for $5

November 4, 2007 at 11:14 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Niggy TardustI was a huge fan of Saul Williams’ “Amethyst Rockstar” album from 2001. I stopped following his music, like I stopped following most music.*) Now he came out with a new Album, The Inevitable Rise And Liberation Of Niggy Tardust, produced by Nine Inch Nails’ Trent Reznor and mixed by Alan Moulder (My Bloody Valentine, Smashing Pumpkins). The album title echoes David Bowie’s Ziggy Stardust, but think of Niggy as a black version [Niggy –> Nigger, Tardust –> Teerstaub]. Amethyst Rockstar was rad, Niggy Tardust is even more rad, and before you have even listened to one line of it.

It’s NOT going to be available in record stores AT ALL. You can only download it from Saul’s website. And here comes the radical part: You can either pay $5 – or NOTHING. If you pay $5 you get to choose between three different types of download (including a 320Kps mp3), and if you choose the free version you get a 190kps mp3. AND you get the tracklist and the cover art as a separate pdf with both versions

Go here and pick which way you want it.

I downloaded the free version last night and will donate later today, when I do my paper work.

DEAR BLOGGING FRIENDS, PLEASE SPREAD THE WORD!

That’s the kind of thing that, I read, Radiohead should have done with their In Rainbows.

*) A note on the side: It is and was the mp3 business that put me off listening to music. I never was much of a radio person, so my music come to me via CDs. Buying CDs felt stupid when everyone around me downloaded music for free – but I am just not the mp3 person (I’ll make an exception for Saul). What am I supposed to do with a piece on music on my computer? I want it on my stereo. And the playlist business is rather tedious to me. And that’s that.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] Saul Williams There is a fabulous remake of U2’s Sunday Bloody Sunday on Saul Williams new free/very affordable new album Niggy Tardust. This pleases me twice as much – I think I think I am the only person I know doesn’t like U2 […]

  2. […] 5th, 2007  Anaj has kindly pointed out that Saul Williams new album is available online for $5 or free […]

  3. let’s get this straight: this is not about paying 3,45 euros on somebody else’s say, but about paying 3,45 beacuse you give respect to the musician.

    if you don’t do that you are free to not download the music or to download it for free.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

