Your future – take that decision NOW!

October 23, 2007 at 7:10 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 5 Comments
Tags: , , ,

I thoroughly HATE taking decisions. I am extremely good at exploring a problem and all its ramifications, but the moment when a decision needs to be taken is most dreadful to me.

Today we had to decide (rather: our instructor tried to decide for us) where we’d like to spend the next three weeks. He wanted to put me into the chronicle department – they do things like “Teenage Newborn Christians”, “Call Girl Circuits in Vienna” and a few political reports, provided the topic involves prostitution and abuse of office. Our instructor wanted me in there because he thinks I can write – while I do agree on that (meanwhile), I also know that it is not part of my constitution to hunt for breaking news in a brothel or try to squeeze the insides out of a confused young adult. That’s why I am going to tell him tomorrow that I won’t be available for this placement.

It’s odd: It was never a dream of mine to become a top-notch, investigative journalist – our instructor seems to be projecting that wish onto me and that is why I feel somehow bad for not accepting his choice of placement. And it’s worse, actually: It’s almost like I am afraid I might be missing out on an unexplored part of my personality if I don’t take this ‘chance’ (mind you: one that had never occurred to me before) now.

On other terms: I still remember how I occasionally HATED to have to take control of a classroom while I was still teaching – on days that I was more vulnerable, and felt that putting myself out front like that was something that I had to consciously force myself to. But what kind of a challenge is THAT in comparison to having to ring the door bells of complete strangers, trying to make them tell you your life story? Sure, there might be days that I am on an adrenaline high where it’ll work just like that – but what do I do on those vulnerable days?

Let’s not forget: When I was 19, I dropped out of my first semester at university because I was so scared of people then that leaving the house (a five-storey building, with the potential threat of the janitor hiding behind every corner) and mingling with my fellow students became a dreaded, seemingly unmanageable task. I’ve come a bloody long way since then!!! But do I really have to up the ante once more and now decide to become an investigative journalist?

So I arranged a brief meeting with the head of multimedia, and as of Monday, I am going to be an online editor in training. I guess I’ll be able to start work right away – considering that I already know my fair share of CMS and HTML and Photoshop. It’s definitely not a job that has the same glamour as that of the chronicle journalist, but it sounds like a place where I could feel at home, in a professional sense.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I think it’s better to build on your existing skills, rather than doing something new. I’m a bit sceptical about the whole journalism-thing anyway. i.e. if it’s got to be ‘journalism’, then at least online! And not the traditional offline (investigative – talking to other people *in depth* in RL – no way😛 )

  2. Yep. If I took the investigative turn, I’d have to start over and develop a whole new profile AND I’d have to get on RL people’s real nerves big time!

  3. I know how you feel… As a metaphor, you may love driving, but there r times when you want to just sit back and relax and let someone else do the driving!!!

  4. I too believe that everyone has their own strengths. There’s no poin in me being a social worker or a school teacher, for example. I would fail miserably😛

  5. Thank you for your views. Meanwhile, a compromise has formed: I am going to join the science editor for two weeks (he is all alone in his dept, so there is work to do) and then join onine for the final week.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

