Done with teaching!!!!

July 9, 2007 at 5:24 pm | Posted in English | 3 Comments
Tags: ,

And who knows for how long, probably the rest of my life? Having been a teacher for three years now (lecturer according to my card, but I’ve said it before: that was a lie and a huge overstatement, definitely on my paycheck – on leaving I learned that I made 800 Euros less than what the alleged salary for lecturers is at the institution to which I am saying good bye now; gender pay gap in Vorarlberg, bigger than ever), and employed as one for six more weeks, I am now very much inclined to say that this is true:

THOSE WHO CAN, DO.
THOSE WHO CAN’T, TEACH.

So I am also leaving this place to show myself than I can… yet need to find what that is. Or was. I forgot. Three years of teaching fried my brains.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. excellent 🙂

    3 years is a good period of time though to stay in a job. It sucks a bit that you don’t have a job to go to – how easy is it to get benefits in Austria?

  2. Goood luck!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂

  3. Hey Jana
    Good luck with your endeavours..Keep us posted
    I believe that teaching is something which should be done only when,

    1. You love doing it and not doing it just for the heck of it.

    2.You really know your stuff and adding some value to students’ learning beyond what they can find on their own in books or on internet. That value can only come after you have worked in that particular field for years and therefore bring to the table your own unique insights and experiences.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

