The oddest line I ever searched on the internet

June 10, 2007 at 3:11 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 8 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,

…and found is “mummy, oh daddy, let’s all play kabbadi“. It’s a line from one of my favourite TV series, SPACED, created by Simon Pegg and Jessica Stevenson, and I also just learned what Kabbadi – actually Kabaddi is: A field game that’s played in particular in the Punjab. Here’s an excerpt from Spaced, not about Kabaddi, but about Paintball:

But Kabaddi seems to be an odd game! I would like to see a game of that. Here is how Wikipeda describes the rules:

The teams take turns sending a “raider” across to the opposite team’s half, where the goal is to tag or wrestle (“capture”) members of the opposite team before returning to the home half. Tagged members are “out” and are sent off the field. Traditionally, the raider was not allowed to take a breath during the raid, and had to prove this by constantly chanting (called ‘cant’ or ‘dak’) during the raid. The chant-word is kabaddi in India and Pakistan, hađuđu in Bangladesh, do-do in Nepal, guddu in Sri Lanka, chado-guddo in Malaysia, Zoo in Iran, and techib in Indonesia.

Cool, ha? And that is what it looks like – athletic young men in their underwear wrestling with each other – I’d prefer that to a cat fight any time! Couldn’t this be the new beach volleyball?

Kabaddi

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hey Jana
    I was delighted to see your post on this. It’s so funny that you are talking about Kabaddi..:)
    Kabaddi is a Punjabi sport which originated in rural punjab not so long ago ( May be couple of centuries). It remains a village/small town game and is not popular in cities.
    I remember I played in for couple of years in high school. It could be a fun game and needs no resources to play..inexpensive game..
    Sometimes, I see you as a Punjabi woman..lol
    In any case, after meeting Lerissa and you, Iam pretty certain of some connection between Germans and Punjabis..lol

  2. Hey Jana, U would be happy to note that I was the captain of girls kabaddi team way back in school… lovely game but ya ruthless… 😉

  3. What? You were a captain of Kabaddi team Nova? That’s so unbelievable..So, you are a master of all trades..:)
    Why do you say ” way back in school”..you are too young to say that buddy ..lol
    I remember when I played Kabaddi, I was quite skinny at that time ..I was more into running and Cricket type stuff, not too good for power games like Kabaddi..
    Iam sure you would have beaten me hands down in this game..

  4. Dear Nova, I am honoured to read the comment of a true kabaddi girls team captain on this blog! I must search for some kabaddi footage on youtube – I wouldn’t even have thought that something like a kabaddi girls team exists!

    And, Lallopallo, I’ve always thought that there is some kind of subconsious connection between the German and the Indian mind. Hey mummy, hey daddy, let’s all play kabaddi!

  5. Ya, let’s all play Kabaddi..Why dont you guys come over to Toronto now..weather is so nice..perfect for Kabaddi..and we will have Miss Nova as our coach and captain..:)
    Jana, Ya, for sure, there is some connection between Germans and especially North Indians/Punjabis ( Who modern historians claim to be descendants of Aryans ( light skinned, blue eyed people who came from somewhere between Persia and Europe), a theory debated but still widely believed). Iam sure you know that Hitler claimed that Germans were original Aryans..
    Although, it’s interesting that Anthropologists have yet to establish that Aryans were a separate race.
    But , it seems pretty certain that many of Indo-European languages came out of Sanskrit…if you remember, I once gave you an example of word Hans, which means pigeon in Sanskrit and look at Luft- hansa ( Lufthansa)

  6. Lol… Lallopallo… u r funny!!! 😀

    Ohh yeaaah… I was kinda crazy about kabaddi at one point of time…

    It would be great to actually play kabaddi once more… 🙂

  7. I remember all the examples you gave me clearly:-) And yes, Hitler did believe that Germans were of Aryan descent – that’s why it’s so difficult to use the term (Arier in German) without having shivers up and down ones spine…

  8. Well, Nova dear, thanks for finding me funny…Actually, having fun in whatever I do is my ultimate obsession..Not an easy goal, but nevertheless..
    So, it’s done..whenever we all meet , we will play Kabaddi..Now, no backtracking my anybody..lol
    Infact I was wondering if we can play Kabaddi on a video game or online..like we play billiards, chess etc
    BTW,Nova, I replied to your comment on my blog and waiting for your reply …regarding cross-cultural training course..
    Jana dear, I know what you mean..Hitler or anything to do with him, rests heavy on the consciousness of all Germans


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

