No more interest

June 4, 2007 at 8:43 am | Posted in Blogging, Literature | 7 Comments
Tags: ,

So it happened. I am suddenly no more interested in blogging. This has a lot to do with the lack of a computer and working internet connection at home of course. It happens just like that. But today my new computer is supposed to arrive – let’s see whether this changes anything. I hope they deliver it to me in person – I am always conscious about things disappearing in this place that pretends to be a university. Other than that: No news yet from the museum guy – but who’d expect that really (it’s a hope nonetheless). Tired today because I read until half past three both last night and the night before. I’ve been noticing for a while now that I seem to be able to read again, and in particular: read fast. Although: It was a 600 pages novel by Olivia Goldsmith – authof of The first wives club who died from complications from plastic surgery, my God, what a way to die (in particular since the book I read, Bestseller, was among other things about a face-lifted women’s novels writer, and she didn’t make her look good) – meaning that my newly retrieved ability to focus on the printed word extends only to things that I do NOT HAVE to read, for either study or work – the problem started around 2001 I think, when reading became de riguer for finishing my degree. I am actually almost addicted to reading right now, and willing to read ANYTHING I can lay my hands on. On Friday, I bought, seven books on the flea market, for one Euro each.

_a Henning Mankell, return of the dancing instructor or something like that (which I gave to one of the cleaning ladies right I way – I have an allergy towards bookclub hardcovers; but surprisingly not to cheap paperbacks of slush).
_the mentioned Olivia Goldsmith (in English)
_D.H. Lawrence: Women in Love (in English)
_a Knut Hamsun
_a book by Loriot, ‘little prose’
_a non-fiction book about Jewish belief and religion
_and Karl May‘s Der Schut:-)

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hey Jana, Please dont stop blogging😦

    I have restarted blogging🙂 Off late couldnt coz of lack of time and resources…

    And guess what? Have also started reading a lot these days…🙂

  2. I can empathize with the lack of enthusiasm that is indiced by the lack of a stable internet connection. I am currently trying to get that backl as soon as I can. Strange how much of your life truly depends on being able to access the internet–in fact, it seems as though lacking this small thing drastically decreses the quality of your life.
    Kinda scary.

  3. You can tell that I am writing this in a hurry while in a coffee shop–no time for spell-checking.

  4. just keep going! It’s hard work sometimes but I think overall it’s great to have a regular focal point in the form of a blog. It’s certainly good for me to have a daily chat with myself😛

  5. I am probably not going to keep up the one post per day habit which has stopped making sense to me. Just by the way: My black MacBook arrived to day, and I managed to reset the router (I had secured the internet in such a way that only my computer could access it – which makes perfect sense until that one computer dies;-). So I am back in the web and back with a computer. Nonetheless – I doubt I’ll be quite as bloggy as in the past as I THOROUGHLY enjoyed not having the internet on all the time:-)

  6. Iam also without computer nowadays and could understand what it means. Sometimes, you feel so liberated and occasionally you feel as if something is missing from your life.
    Iam pretty certain that you wont leave blogging.:)
    Ciao

  7. Well – I guess you’re right:-)


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

