Kurt Vonnegut (1922-2007)

April 12, 2007 at 8:51 am | Posted in Literature | 5 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

VonnegutKurt Vonnegut died yesterday, according to Wikipedia “after a fall several weeks prior resulted in irreversible brain injuries.” I’ve got a copy of Slaughterhouse Five which I never finished reading. I think I was 14 when I bought it and somehow didn’t get the point of it. Maybe this would be a good time to try again.

If I ever stop coughing the stuff I am coughing right now, that is. I’ve got a fully-fledged flu now, although I got the flu shot.

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Just heard about it as well. Very sad news on a very grey day. He did write some really nice things. There are better novels of his when it comes to literary standards, but _Slaughterhouse Five_ is just too fitting a novel for our present global situation for me not to consider it one of the most important novels to read today. You will enjoy it. A great ending (may not seem so at first, but it is really brilliant and more complex than it may seem when you give it some time).
    Hope you’ll feel better soon–take care of yourself.

  2. So geht das.

    LOL

  3. @jomalm: hä?

    @jetsam: so there’s plan for the next novel to read – suppose I should get the English though. Hey, ever since I’m a blogger my intake of novels has doubled to tripled:-)

  4. In der dt. Übersetzung von “Slaughterhouse 5” kommt der Satz quasi auf jeder Seite vor.

  5. ah! bin ja nicht weit gekommen beim ersten mal, habe jetzt die englische fassung bestelllt und daszu syrup, das ist wohl die englische fassung von logoland


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

