Panorama, Pt. 1

April 10, 2007 at 10:29 pm | Posted in Austria | 9 Comments
Tags: , , ,

It’s amazing what cellphone cameras can do these days – my boyfriend’s cellphone can automatically splice three successive pictures together to form a panorama… perspectives get distorted though: this view from the top of the Sonnstein make the opposite shore of the Traunsee appear like an island. Both of us have returned a bit sick, but nevertheless it was a lovely break from work and our daily routine. My boyfriend gets back to his diploma thesis, me to fighting for equality – one last round. The break helped me to make up my mind regarding the future. At least two questions are addressed now:

1) I am not going to apply for the PhD programme advertised by the University of Vienna.

2) I am not going to renew my contract here in f***ing Vorradelberg.

DSC00289.JPG

Both decisions feel like good decisions 😀

9 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. cool, I wouldn’t do a PhD again but would do it again if I didn’t know then what I know now.

  2. Lovely photographs you’ve posted, and I do hope that—as you say and believe, and as I understand things—that these two decisions are necessary, essential, and very right for you now.

    Despite the island-factor of this photo, I quite admire it. It’s really lovely: almost isolating and yet not, to some degree, like one of the island-centred films of Bergman circa 1960-ish.

  3. @Lenina: 😉 Yes, I tried to find a compromise between these perspectives and eventually decided that doing a PhD in humanities in continental Europe would only make sense if I really wanted to venture on an academic career – but I don’t. Instead, I’ve decided that i want to be _wise_ – wise with making use of the resource that is my future.

    @whetted. Yes, it’s definitely a both isolating and liberating landscape. It’s bizarre. There is not much space around the Lake left, it’s 12 km long, but historically, the ship would have been the only means to connect Gmunden with Ebensee – this resulted in the development of two rather different dialects.

    Haven’t watched enough Bergman films in my life, should definitely watch more.

  4. Great to have you back on the blog – missed your stories already!
    Coming up with such lovely pictures makes it even better. 🙂 🙂 🙂

  5. Hey Uli, is that you from the far East of Asia? Compliments for daring to break through the virtual barrier 🙂

  6. Congratulations on your decisions! I agree, academia can be a landscape similarly isolating as the one you photographically present to us. Maybe vists to academia should also be limited to short vacations. I applaud you in your courage and, again, find myself jealous as I am sitting here writing away, waiting for my life to begin, always troubled by the thought that I have been devoting 7 years purely to academic work at the cost of never being able to go on vacation and generally never being able to have that thing other people like to call “fun” (I remember fun from my previous life…I think it was fun). Making it through 5 years minimum post-M.A. while constantly wondering if it will be worth it may indeed not be the best way to make use of the scarce resource that is life.

  7. Ah, I don’t think you need to worry. In my case, I was occasionally chancing upon some smart ideas, but would have been unable to establish the solid foundation of knowledge and understanding that your blog is a witness of. It’s not that I had an incredible amount of holidays or ‘fun’ in the conventional sense (i.e. getting pissed and talking bull shit, isn’t it? I don’t think that is much fun just on its own) either – and I doubt that my decision is going to be a warranty for one. The main reason for taking that decision was that I didn’t believe that, at the end of the day, I’d be as good as I’d have to be to be proud of myself (let alone as good as I’d like to be in order to ever be considered a serious scholar). Doing a PhD (in humanities) really only makes sense if you’re aiming for the highest – and I would not have been capable to reach that aim. But looking at your texts (and these are probably just Miszellen, in relation to what is going on in your thesis), I have no doubt that YOU are going to reach this level. So don’t fret now – stay on task:-)

  8. Ha, thank you. Aber ich verschiesse mein ganzes Pulver in meinem Blog. 🙂

  9. Well, embrace it:-) Habe schon mal überlegt, ob man nicht das ganze Bloggeschreibsel archivieren sollte Meins nicht unbedingt, würde ich dir aber unbedingt empfehlen. Da sind so viel gute Sachen drin die du bestimmt noch mal wiederverenden kannst. Pulver ist ja nicht auf alle Ewigkeit verschossen:-)


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

