I’m Reading The House of Mirth

April 2, 2007 at 10:14 pm | Posted in Literature | 4 Comments
Tags: , ,

… by Edith Wharton and it’s fantastic. Too bad it is a tragedy, so it must end tragically. But I so much hoped for Lily Bart to marry Lawrence Selden (she! proposed after a fifth of the novel, with no kiss exchanged yet – but a woman, of course, cannot propose, and so her question wasn’t a proposal), but now I fear that she is going to lose the little money she has through Gus Trenor’s speculations… sigh…

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. The House of Mirth is astounding. One of my favorite of Wharton’s novels. I do hope you enjoy it—you must let us know!

  2. I’m glad you’re enjoying it. It’s difficult to keep quiet, but I must until you’re finished!

  3. Yes, please don’t say a word! Btw, I changed the equality post to ‘private’ status, until the issues is resolved. Director wasn’t in today (too bad, I was in the perfect mood).

  4. ha! that makes sense. I hope you’ll let us know how it all comes out. Don’t take any guff.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

