My brother’s photographs 31/40

March 29, 2007 at 7:12 am | Posted in Photography | 4 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

In terms of ‘career’ and ‘professional development’, my brother and I couldn’t be any more different. He’s just four years older than me but has been working for the past 19 years in a full time job. I am in my 4.5th year now of working full-time. I’m an English teacher (not justified to call me lecturer, although it says so on my card), he has been employed as cleaning staff for the past 15 years. But the photographs he takes keep amazing me. He has never had any form of training, and you can sometimes see that his take on framing, for instance, is very unconventional. Which contributes to the photos’ fascination. And the collages he comes up with are also absolutely independent. He only had five years of English at school and that was 20 years ago. This notwithstanding, he keeps writing me emails in English and knows how to use the language to describe his pictures. Today I’d just like to present some of the pictures on his flickr portfolio:












4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Very Good Pictures!

  2. These pictures are quite engrossing! My favorite is the barnacled corn, followed by the interrogative dog. They do have a fascinating/fascinated quality. Thanks for sharing them. 🙂

  3. Quick, potentially weird question: was the seventh picture from the top (in between two housing blocks) by any chance taken in Mainz???

  4. No, Frankfurt, but these housing blocks all look the same…


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

