Mangoes will grow into my mouth 27/40

March 19, 2007 at 7:12 am | Posted in Food | 8 Comments
Tags: , ,

Wishful thinking. But I am really growing mangoes now, on my French balcony:-) It started with a special breed of mango, sweet yellow ones I hadn’t seen before. Their skin seemed to be thinner, and they were really ripe when I found them in the supermarket. We don’t get many ripe mangoes in Europe, and if you ever had fresh mango in Africa, you’ll never ever want to eat the ones sold in European supermarkets again. They only get soft once they are close to rotting away:-X

This one was different though, perfectly ripe, and also didn’t contain any of those fibers that get denser around the pit and remain sticking between your teeth. Probably genetically modified;-) Just in case you have ever tried to peel a mango: Here are some instructions for preparing mangoes – I peeled the first ones I ever had, too, but that’s not the proper and convenient way to eat them.

After having gulped mine down (too quickly, as it was too good and too sweet for one not to become greedy, in particular for someone who gave up sugar for Lent;-) I thought that the pit of that one looked actually like a real seed, and that maybe one could do something with it. I did some internet research and then took a knife to pry the pit open. It contained the actual seed, enclosed in a brown, parchment-like shell that had already become to small for the yellowish-greenish thing inside. I put it in a pot filled with earth (not very good earth, I am afraid, might need to change that) and watered it.

mangopit02

That was Sunday last week. On the second day after I had planted it, you could see a tiny sprout developing on the side, barely a centimeter long. When I checked it again today, it had already taken root:-)

mangopit01

The proud gardener:

mangopit03

Well, I doubt that I’ll ever harvest some mangoes – certainly not without a greenhouse or winter garden. But it’s just fascinating to see a plant grow from a seed, and at such as a speed:-)

8 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I always thought that you need a very warm habitat to grow mangoes. I mean really warm places such as central and southern India , Africa and certain parts of south america. Never thought you can grow them in Western Europe!

  2. I love mangoes. Clever to go ahead and plant your seed from the pit. One of the unfortunate things about living in the Chicago is the difficulty of finding a space to garden, though even a few house plants is better than nothing. I find it soothing to care for little green things.

    I’m going to be getting a new apartment in late May or early June and am already thinking about what I might plant. Of course it depends to some extent on available sunlight and space, but it’s fun to imagine a tropical paradise in the meantime. Usually I like to have a few herbs growing. A few flowers (though they tend to be more temperamental) are also a good thing.

    Despite the snow here, it’s nice to think that Spring planting is upon us.

  3. @lallopallo: truth is, you might be able to grow a little tree to keep in your apartment, but you’ll never ever be able to harvest any. I was just fantasizing about it:-)

    @cabbage: must take a photograph of this crazy plant that I keep in my office. I inherited it from the people living in the office before me, and I don’t know whether they never watered it (secretaries – don’t secretaries normally water plants?) but it’s grown into this junglesque bush. I am planning to take it with me when I leave – I am sure that it would be much happier with me than with anyone else, now that its nearly double its dimensions since I started looking after it! Sorry for not having made any fundamental contributions to your naturalism posts yet – I am generally not very familiar with naturalism:-((( Yet. Hopefully your blog will educate me:-)))

  4. No worries about the naturalism posts. They’re decidedly a bit esoteric. You put me in mind of maybe writing a post or two at some point about “naturalist basics.” I do sometimes worry about not being sufficiently reader friendly. Thanks for looking at them!

    Healthy shrubbage is definitely good. Would enjoy seeing your needy office-mate!

  5. That can be organized – expect a picture of my private jungle some time soon!

  6. I am impressed by your green fingers 🙂 So, you are going to abscond with the plant without telling me 😦 No, seriously, I would too. Everything green dies at my hands. Quote from Tolkien: “for they love peace and quiet and good tilled earth: a well-ordered and well-farmed countryside was their favourite haunt.” Would a hobbit be happy in Vorarlberg?!? 😉

  7. I can leave you the small one I grew from a sprig? But some time soon, I need to repot the giant. Do you have any idea what this plan is called? Hobbits, different story – judging from the Tolikien quote, I would say that they’d love it here! Well-ordered, well-farmed, countryside, good food – it’s all here!

  8. Wow! Mangoes r my favorite fruit 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

