A breastfeeding minor? 26/40

March 18, 2007 at 8:47 am | Posted in Film, Television | 4 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , ,

One of my students sent me this picture of a rather disturbing poster she found in a thrift shop in Istanbul, featuring what seems to be an under-aged girl (maybe 6) breastfeeding a baby.

Gülsah

If you take a second look, however, you’ll find that the girl is simply caressing the baby, and that the misleading impression is probably the result of the poster been buckled. I wish I understood Turkish – apparently, this is the poster for a Turkish movie produced in 1975 which carried the first name of the actress, Gülsah. Also, it’s a comedy, so let’s just hope that there are no comedies that feature breastfeeding minors. Nice example of borderline iconography though.

Apart from that, something wild happened on my blog today. The deletion of that insect on Google Earth was evidently a story of greater interest – it even scored place 66 on the list of top posts in English…. I doubt that that is going to happen again though – and look how pathetic my regular blog traffic is made to look now! It’s sunk into insignificance…;-)

Blogstats

Numbers are really dangerous. We watched another installment of Deutschland sucht den Superstar (German Popidol) yesterday, and the scenes at the end, when the results of the telephone vote are released are really nasty. Confronting 16 year olds with a vote on what must appear to them as their popularity is really quite harsh. Numbers are nasty. One interesting thing about my traffic yesterday: in spite of this incredible number of 471 viewers, none of them (except my beloved usual suspects) left a comment – although that’s what makes it interesting. On that remark (and in order of first blog appearance): Thanks Lenina, Nova, Lallopallo, Jetsam, Cabbage and Greg for stopping by regularly and making your contributions. They brighten up my days in F***ing Voradelberg tremendously! And thanks to the ‘lurkers’ who I know are there (and let me know so via email:-) A happy Sugahasisumnida to all:-)

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Jana, congrats for your google post making big in the blogging world.:)
    You advised me to shift to wordpress..Is it possible to do the transition while keeping my old posts intact?

  2. Well, there is an import function, but I never managed to import my posts from blogger to wordpress – seems like Google/Blogger is blocking that somehow – On a different note. Yesterday the new completely Ajax-based version of Blogger went live. Maybe you’d like to give that a try first. You’d need to log on to Blogger and the demand that they migrate you from old to new blogger – matter of two minutes. I don’t think I’ll move back, I also don’t like that they forced my to link it to my gmail account, cause that’s the one email account that I have that never ever want to be spammed, that’s why I normally never reveal it (only to friends). Meaning that I’ll definitely stick with WP – when the import didn’t work, I simply set a link from blogspot to the new blog on WP.

  3. Want to echo the congratulations! It’s nice to be a regular. Your blog and a cup of coffee help get me going every morning. Thank you!

  4. I think Iam already in the new blogger but it doesnt seem to have much of features or Iam unable to find that ( My IT skills have gone from bad to worse). I will try to shift to wordpress. Thanks a lot for the information Jana.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

