I do IUD

February 27, 2007 at 9:21 am | Posted in Gender, Health, Women | 5 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

Just a brief note: I’ve got a new friend now, Mirena. Who needs enemies if you have friends like these. What a painful encounter. I was as white as a sheet when I walked home, happy to live at a 5 minutes distance from my gynaecologist. Have taken painkillers now, as my uterus, quite understandably, is trying to eject the intruder. Hope that won’t work, because it cost me € 380. The thing itself and the instruments used to insert it probably had the diameter of a pen. Imagine the pain of giving birth in comparison! Or, as a friend of a friend once said: Imagine popping something the size of a water melon through your nostril. Shudder…

A gender politics critique: According to the sources on the web, they give you an anaesthetic to numb the pain beforehand, an injection into the uterus. I didn’t get one, because my doctor said that wouldn’t be necessary. How is he supposed to know being a man? I suppose women are much more pain tolerant. They go through this kind of pain once a month. But does that mean that there is no need to avoid as much of pain as possible? Blimey!

5 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Sounds perfectly awful. I hope the painkillers are doing their business. What was your doctor thinking?! Pain tolerant or otherwise, there’s no need for excessive suffering.
    He should have have asked whether you would like to have the shot.

    Ouch on the wallet, too.

  2. Good wishes for you!

  3. Thanks. Still in pain seven days later. Not sure whether this was the right choice.

  4. […] has fundamentally changed the boundaries of what I used to consider private and public. Things like using an IUD, for instance, I don’t think I would have wrote about on my first website, around 1998, over […]

  5. […] Yesterday I finally had the Orc weapon that goes by the name of Mirena removed from my uterus – it had been sitting there for 10 months and giving me all interesting sorts of pain. Even though it is a very convenient and effective form […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

