F***ing February is too short! 3/40

February 23, 2007 at 1:46 pm | Posted in Food, Lent, Teaching English | 3 Comments
Tags:

I’ve just realized with a mild shock that February is almost over. No wonder with its measly 28 days. Bad news is that my teaching starts again in a week from now, while I assumed it to start in two weeks! There goes my weekend:-( On top of that, I am planning to revise my Creative Writing Course to integrate Problem-Based Learning element (for the input sessions) and to teach a course on Digital Story Telling for the first time. Oh no! Helluva lot of work waiting for me that needs to be done in too little time – and we only just finished the grades for last semester!

LentMy temporary absentmindedness almost caused my Lent plan to break down! I prepared rice with pepper and garlic in my rice cooker. Because it comes out very hot (and to add some taste) I wanted to pour Balsamico bianco (white vinegar) over the dish – and instead grabbed the bottle of concentrated pear-mint juice! I shoved one bite into my mouth before I realized my mistake… and there went my carefully prepared meal:-(

But I swear I didn’t swallow!

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. As a child, I once stuffed some chocolates into my mouth when I was very absent-minded and Lent had just started. Feeling incredibly guilty, I rushed to the toilet and spat it all out! Luckily, I hadn’t swallowed any of it yet.

    I quite like the idea of giving things up, but I’ve already stopped drinking and smoking anyway (both for good) and I didn’t want to deprive myself of chocolate. So, Lent this year is business as usual 🙂

  2. Woo, that’s drastic:-) In my childhood, as nobody was catholic, nobody participated in Lent, which spared my such pangs of guilt.

  3. I’m a little choked up about the loss of rice with pepper and garlic. What an elegant meal!

    Sorry to hear about the loss of your weekend and the onrush/onlsaught of the new semester. Digital Story-Telling sounds like a cool course to teach. A friend wrote for years a seriealized online fictional narrative.

    It’s here:
    http://www.imaginaryyear.com/intro.html

    if you’d like to take a peak.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

