Pull the plug – to protect the environment

February 1, 2007 at 4:57 pm | Posted in Global Warming, Globalization | 2 Comments

A colleague sent this mail to “staff@” today – I’m not particularly fond of bulk email from colleagues, as at best 25% of the staff are really concerned. And this is the kind of mail I like least – an inspirational email. I think that’s just a waste of bandwith and doesn’t belong in corporate communication.

Even though, I thought this mail was interesting – its concern is futile nonetheless. They’re asking people to pull the plug on all their electric appliances for the time between 19:55 and 20:00 tonight, on the occasion of the publication of the United Nation’s current report on climate. In other words: Spend five minutes in darkness and contemplate about the climate change.

Stecker raus

The winter of 2006/2007 is definitely going to be the one that will stay on my mind as the first winter that wasn’t one – and not only here, but the winter in which the icebergs began to melt and the polar bears died because ice floes crumbled beneath their feet. The frightening thing about global warming is that there is no escape – the joke of the 1980s that we cannot throw this world away when it’s wasted because we only have one, has became the scary truth.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Comment to myself – Damn! I was so absorbed in putting together a quick and dirty website for my choir that I missed eight o’clock…

  2. LOL. I checked your entry too late. Plus, I really can’t unplug today due to the launch of hitflip. Yeah, not really a good reason is it 😐


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

