I’m back (and sick)

December 31, 2006 at 1:49 pm | Posted in Friends, Sick | 1 Comment
Tags:

This is going to be an odd new year’s eve. I had wanted to spent it with my boyfriend and his hometown pals in Gmunden… but now I’m sick and confined to my own four walls. It’s not the first Silvester (as it is called in German) I am going to spent by myself.

The other time was roughly ten years ago when I had gone home to the country side for new year’s eve only to find that everyone I knew had gone elsewhere. Even my mom and brother had decided to celebrate somewhere else, and I at the time was to shy to gate-crash a party to which I hadn’t officially been invited. Before going frantic about the prospect of being all my myself, however, I accepted my fate. I was lucky to have the cat though which was still alive back then.

In hindsight, it probably was the most peaceful new year’s eve ever. I roasted chestnuts on the stove in my room (yes, my room still had one at the time) and sipped a bit of port until I feel asleep around 11pm, with the cat dozing on my chest. At mind-night, when the (rather humble) fireworks started, the cat made a few louder purring noises which woke me up in turn, only to go back to sleep a little later. I wish I had a cat for this one, too.

Anyhow, what I have is Frank Schätzing’s novel THE SWARM, which has received not so complimentary reviews by the more science-literate crowd, but is actually quite thrilling to me. It has a whopping 987 pages of which I have only mastered 350 so far, in spite of having been an avid reader for the past three days. Some of the scientists and most of the equipment used exist in real life, too – for instance the Deep Rover, a submersible consisting mainly of a transparent globe on skis with two picker arms. Of course this is no warranty for scientific accuracy or literary excellence – but makes the read rather entertaining when most of the instruments are googleable.

Maybe it would have been wiser to go to Gmunden anyway, even if only being able to participate in a wee part of the celebration. Good thing is though that I rarely regret decisions I have taken (except those which were not really based on judgment, but the arbitrary result of not knowing what to do and not knowing any better – for instance, getting a degree in humanities 😉 So thankfully I’m not having a major grudge against fate today 🙂

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. So sorry to hear that Jana… hope u have are doing better now. I am sorry for not being able to visit your blog more often. L’Attitude kept me occupied throughout…


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

