Paupers of the information age

December 5, 2006 at 2:36 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 4 Comments
Tags:

For a lesson on quizshows, I had asked a colleague who receives BBC programmes to record the Weakest Link and Eggheads. He recorded it on VHS, I transferred it to DVD with a DVD recorder. Tough luck, however: The data layer of both DVDs is coming off! I’ve got no idea what caused this. Guess I should ask whether this is a problem that occured with the whole batch. The video’s lost anyway – still have it on VHS, but no VHS player in the classroom!

As mentioned earlier: Going digital might lead to a temporary exponential increase in global knowledge (stored knowledge, that is, not circulating knowledge: dead knowledge if you want to), but sooner or later it is all going to go down the drain.

We are NOT the kings of information, we are the future paupers of the information age. By the time the zeros and naughts will disintegrate along with the storage media that carry them, our inherent memory (a.k.a. brain) will be so weak that we’ll hardly be able to remember the phone numbers of our beloved ones (“Sorry, stored them on my phone, SIM card’s on the fritz!”)

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hey, if you want any TV recordings from over here I can do it for you. I’d record straight onto my PC (I have a TV card and Windows Media Centre) and can either burn it onto CD/DVD or upload it to a server if you want. I did this the other day for a friend of mine. a 1 h show is approx. 1.9 GB though but I can compress to 1.4.

  2. Thanks, but I suppose it’s too late know, the seminar is coming up next Tuesday.

    Reminding me that I still owe you the salad spice…

  3. Salatgewürz?

  4. I bought your Sleepeaze the other day. I’ve also recommended it to another friend who similary can’t sleep.. (though I’m not too bad right now – I’ve bought an electric blanket for my bed. I’m an old lady now)


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

